Understanding DSM-5 Criteria for PTSD: A Disorder of Extinction


Associate Vice-Chair of Clinical Research, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory University School of Medicine
Director, Emory Healthcare Veterans Program
Director, Emory Trauma and Anxiety Recovery Program
Paul A. Janssen Chair in Neuropsychopharmacology

Key Points

  1. The DSM-5 diagnostic criteria for PTSD includes an outside event: the trauma.
  2. The subcategories include symptoms of intrusion, avoidance, negative alterations in cognitions and mood, and marked alterations in arousal and reactivity.
  3. The DSM symptoms of PTSD are part of the normal response to trauma.

PE for PTSD Online Training

Learn how to apply prolonged exposure therapy principles for patients with PTSD.

Earn 6.75 CE Credits


Free downloads

Download Video/PDF

Understanding DSM-5 Criteria for PTSD: A Disorder of Extinction

Trauma Online Training

The Middle Path for Trauma Work: A Dialectical Behavioral Training (9.25 CE Credits)

Elevate your trauma therapy skills with this groundbreaking course.

Led by renowned expert Dr. Kirby Reutter, this program will equip you with innovative and practical dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) tools.