The four Stages and Targets of DBT Treatment


Psychē, PLLC Vanderbilt University

Key Points

  1. Standard DBT includes four stages and a pre-treatment phase.
  2. There is no timeline for moving through these stages.
  3. Targets differ in each stage.
  4. Most patients begin in stage 1, which involves behavioral stabilization.
  5. Childhood history and histories of trauma are not addressed until stage 2.
  6. Very little information exists for treatment in stages 3 and 4.

Free downloads

Download Video/PDF

The four Stages and Targets of DBT Treatment

Therapy PRO

Unlock our library of clinical cases and earn CE credits today!

Learn from the Best: Explore real sessions conducted by seasoned professionals and enhance your therapeutic skills.